Customer reviews for Melt n Mold Factory

Melt n Mold Factory

Overall rating:
3.019 / 5
3
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
21
Recommended by:30 out of 5258% of reviewers would recommend this.
Customer reviews for Melt n Mold Factory
Review 1 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

melt nmold problem/answers

PostedJune 29, 2014
Customer avatar
scott
fromShirley, NY, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
was disappointed at first .the crayons weren't melting.but upon reading a review by KATH,i found you had to lock the tray in place.Cleaning the tay leaves something to be desired,but I found soaking in hot water helps.despite the problems I had I would recommend the product to others with the helpful hints
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So easy a 3rd grader can do it !

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Dedra
fromSouthern California
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't help my third grader when she uses her melt and mold. I helped her initially to set it up and figure it out, after that, she was all over it. She makes rings and crayons and sells them at school for fifty cents. When her friends spend the night, the first thing they ask for is the melt and mold. It takes a little attention and a little comprehension to put it together, that's it. If you screw up in that process or break a piece while assembling, then you might encounter the problems all of these other people are having. Can't see why theirs wouldn't work just as well as ours unless they assembled incorrectly. The only downside is keeping her from melting down every crayon she comes in contact with.
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bypate
 
Please wait while more information about pate is loaded.
Additional information about pate could not be loaded.
onJune 23, 2014
Need crayons going to
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My daughter loved this toy !!!

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
PGNJ
fromJersey City, NJ, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After much persuasion, I relented and purchased this toy.
My daughter absolutely loves it and has been playing with it for over a month now! She is also demonstrating it as her passion project at school as well at the schools science fair.
Thanks Crayola!
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loads of fun for my boys!

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Customer avatar
semivenus
fromArkansas, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please don't listen to the bad reviews. This toy is awesome! We read through the reviews and almost didn't buy it. Then found a review that said it was a little hard to get the heating tray popped into place, but once that was done, it worked great. I am so glad we decided to trust that person because the boys love it!
Yes, I recommend this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Wasted money, broken hearted kid

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
DisapointedLittleOne
fromQuilcene, WA 98376, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Our Crayola Experience. This product cost a lot and it doesn't work. My child asked Santa for this and it broke his heart when it didn't work. Had to run the cycle several times before the broken crayons melted (over an hour total time). Even tried to shred the crayons before melting and it still took several cycles before it melted. I would NOT recommend this product to anyone. Product does not work right you should give a refund or make amends of some kind. I still have the receipt all parts and instructions but don't have the box it was torn when opened at xmas.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from CrayolaBy AllisonConsumer AffairsFebruary 25, 2014
We're sorry to hear you're having so much trouble with your Melt 'N Mold! We can help, it sounds like your tray may not be inserted properly. Please feel free to follow these steps. If you try these steps and your Melt 'N Mold still isn't melting the Crayons, please give us a call at 1-800-CRAYOLA and reference #001422825A.
1. Make sure unit is cooled, turned off and unplugged.
2. Lift plastic lid.
3. Remove the melt tray by pushing it back and sliding it up and out of the pivot supporters.
4. Begin sliding the tray back into the pivot supporters, making sure to slide the tray underneath the Yellow Pour Control Tab.
5. Use some force to push each tab into the rounded joints. You'll hear two loud clicks as you press one side in and then the other. These clicks ensure the tray is properly in place.
6. Once secured, turn the Pour Control Knob a few times to make sure the melt tray moves freely up and down.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I wish I could get a refund.

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
mcw26
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product was a complete disappointment. I had to run it for three cycles to get the crayons to melt. When I did have melted wax, it didn't fill the mold enough to get three full crayons. It took too much time and provided a less than desirable result. The tray was also impossible to clean. You'd ideally clean it while still warm, but the lid locks, keeping you from getting to the tray until it has cooled. Worst. Product. Ever.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from CrayolaBy AllisonConsumer AffairsFebruary 18, 2014
If you're having problems with our Melt 'N Mold, your tray may not be inserted properly. Please feel free to follow these steps. If your Melt 'N Mold still doesn't work, please call 1-800-CRAYOLA and reference #001421044A.

1. Make sure unit is cooled, turned off and unplugged.
2. Lift plastic lid.
3. Remove the melt tray by pushing it back and sliding it up and out of the pivot supporters.
4. Begin sliding the tray back into the pivot supporters, making sure to slide the tray underneath the Yellow Pour Control Tab.
5. Use some force to push each tab into the rounded joints. You'll hear two loud clicks as you press one side in and then the other. These clicks ensure the tray is properly in place.
6. Once secured, turn the Pour Control Knob a few times to make sure the melt tray moves freely up and down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing!

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
CassieQ
fromOhio
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Other
Fun Factor: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The crayon maker is so much fun!! I had a previous moldel as a kid and I recieved this new one as a surprise! I love it!! It works great. The only trouble is cleaning the tray can be a bit difficult
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

VERY disappointing!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Nannersgran
fromSearcy, AR, USA
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Grandparent
Fun Factor: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product has NO great features! It takes many times to even get the crayons to melt enough to fill the mold. Shoddily made. Tray slips out of holder when it is lifted.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byKath
 
Please wait while more information about Kath is loaded.
Additional information about Kath could not be loaded.
onJanuary 22, 2014
We had the same exact problem. Turns out you're supposed to LOCK the tray in. That's the only way the crayons melt. So when you put the tray in, keep pushing it in until you hear a lock....they need to put this in the instructions.
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great activity -- help with cleaning tray?!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Customer avatar
K8tieLew
fromNorthern, VA, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
User submitted photo
Our crazy crafty 12 year old begged for this for Christmas so we bought it. She has played with it every day since then. Her room -- art desk -- continually smells like melted crayons -- LOL! Please help though, how do we best clean the tray (1) after the residue has dried and (2) after each melt session to avoid accumulated residue? Please help bc she's frustrated at this point and this may end up in the closet and end our great relationship with Crayola brand and its various products...
Yes, I recommend this product!
Response from CrayolaBy AllisonConsumer AffairsJanuary 21, 2014
Try using a paper towel to remove the crayons residue while the tray is still warm! Note that we offer these cleaning instructions in the product booklet that came with the product. If it's no longer available, feel free to view it on our website by clicking on the "Product Instructions" on our website - http://www.crayola.com/products/mel....

If you ever run into product issues, feel free to contact us by calling 1-800-CRAYOLA, emailing or connecting with us on Facebook. We're always here to help!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted bymcw26
 
Please wait while more information about mcw26 is loaded.
Additional information about mcw26 could not be loaded.
onFebruary 15, 2014
To Alison from Crayola: Yes, it does tell you to wipe the "warm" tray with a paper towel. However, the lid locks, keeping you from getting to the tray until it's cool. This is just one of many issues I had with this product.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HUGE disappointment!

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
momof2gurlz
Fun Factor: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Would not melt the crayons enough to pour in to the molds. When I took ours back to the store, there were three other people returning theirs for the same reason. My kids were VERY disappointed & upset :-(
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I would reccomend this product.

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
creativemom22
fromKernersville, NC
Age:18 to 24
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It took me a while to realize I did not have the metal tray snapped in, and then it began to work! I had it all set up correctly, including the tray and it still takes about three or more cycles to melt the crayons. I think this product is definitely a fun activity to do with your children. You do need patience! I would not recommend having your children sit and wait because it took almost two hours for our crayons to be made. None, the less it's a fun creative way to use those broken crayons! I really do like this product, and I have always loved the trusted brands of Crayola!
Yes, I recommend this product!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDisapointedLittleOne
 
Please wait while more information about DisapointedLittleOne is loaded.
Additional information about DisapointedLittleOne could not be loaded.
onFebruary 20, 2014
Operator error here also. But do have to say that the instructions should be re-written. I would change my review if I could. I would recommend this product and the fast response from crayola was great. Made my kids day when he got home from school. Thank You so much .
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

After calling the 800# best gift ever.

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
zoesmom
fromNJ
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I first starting using this with my daughter I would have given it at best 1 star, but after calling the 800 number and being told what was going wrong I love it. The metal crayon holder has to CLICK into the little arms in the front so it sits right on the melting plate then it takes only 1 cycle to melt the crayons. When you put the tray in the little holders at the front put your hand behind him and pull it towards so you you hear a click and it is locked in . It use to take almost a hour to make 2 crayons now I could make 4 in about 20 mins.
Yes, I recommend this product!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My kids LOVE it!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Customer avatar
dewbella
fromKansas, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My boys LOVE their Melt 'n Mold factory. They have played with it every day since Christmas (and that's says it all). Yes, it does take a long time to melt the crayons. My boys start their project and go play then come back to complete a few minutes later. Not a big deal breaker. Cleaning is easy if you use a plastic knife to scrap the tray while warm then wipe with a paper towel. Once the tray has cooled though, clean up becomes difficult. I was skeptical to purchase, but now I would definitely recommend!
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not worth the $$$$$

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Customer avatar
CreativeMom
fromGalloway, Nj
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was so excited to use this with my son . Well I was quickly disappointed . I have followed the directions to a T and no matter how many times I try to use this product we always have to turn the dial to melt the crayons 3-4 times . It takes hours to melt one round of crayons versus the 20-25 minutes that it states in instructions. This product left both my son and I extremely frustrated!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byKath
 
Please wait while more information about Kath is loaded.
Additional information about Kath could not be loaded.
onJanuary 22, 2014
We had the same problem. The problem is that if you don't fully lock in the tray, they don't melt. So when you put the tray in, keep pushing it in until you hear it actually lock. Then it works right.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bylove2draw
 
Please wait while more information about love2draw is loaded.
Additional information about love2draw could not be loaded.
onJanuary 12, 2014
I agree! Both of my children were overjoyed to receive this as a gift along with multiple molds. Everytime we tried, even with extended time, the crayons did not melt enough to properly fill the molds. The boys lost interest and I got stuck with the clean up! So disappointing.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 15 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not at all what I expected

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
RiesesPieces
fromLansing, MI, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This thing is not worth your money. It doesn't melt the crayons as it should (took 4 cycles through to heat it all up). Finally got the melted crayons in 1/2 of the mold. The ring came out fine on one side but now the cleaning part is a pain. Not easy at all. So disappointed in this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byZoesmom
 
Please wait while more information about Zoesmom is loaded.
Additional information about Zoesmom could not be loaded.
onJanuary 9, 2014
I found out when I called the 1800 # what the problem is because I was having the same problem. The woman told me the melting tray is supposed to click into the little holder at the front so it is sitting right on the melting tray not hovering like it had been and that was the reason it took 4-5 cycles to melt the crayons, I did this and they all melting in 1 cycle and were way more liquidy and easier to pour. Hope this helps
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst product ever , especially for the price

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Motherof3NJ
fromMays Landing, Hamilton Township, NJ 08330, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Takes toooo long to melt, clean up is awful and my kids are not pleased with end result. For the price I paid for this product, I am highly irritated. Do not recommend to anyone
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Doesn't melt the wax.

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Shannemac
fromCypress, TX
Age:65 or over
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Grandparent
Fun Factor: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought this for my granddaughter for Christmas. I gave it to her today and we were so disappointed. She is nine years old and very savvy. We tried three times to operate this machine and once it melted one- third of the crayons but would not even stay warm long enough to pour out what was melted.
Very cheaply made. Does not do what it shows on TV.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from CrayolaBy AllisonConsumer AffairsJanuary 9, 2014
It sounds like the melt tray isn't properly inserted! Please try the following steps. If it still doesn't work, please call 1-800-CRAYOLA so we can help further.

1. Make sure unit is cooled, turned off and unplugged.
2. Lift plastic lid.
3. Remove the melt tray by pushing it back and sliding it up and out of the pivot supporters.
4. Begin sliding the tray back into the pivot supporters, making sure to slide the tray underneath the Yellow Pour Control Tab.
5. Use some force to push each tab into the rounded joints. You'll hear two loud clicks as you press one side in and then the other. These clicks ensure the tray is properly in place.
6. Once secured, turn the Pour Control Knob a few times to make sure the melt tray moves freely up and down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Heater does not heat

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Heidib
fromSterling Heights, MI, USA
Age:45 to 54
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Use: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bought this for my 8 & 10 yr olds. Had to run melt cycle several times before the crayons would melt. Have the original crayon maker melts faster then the melt and mold.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Neat! Want more molds!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Ross
fromCrofton, MD, USA
Age:35 to 44
Gender:Male
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this product, it works better than I anticipated. We have all of the molds and I want more, like action figures or a single car mold so it's bigger. My daughters love the spinning top molds and they work great!
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Melt n Mold Factory
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Crayola does it again

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Customer avatar
curla
fromNew York, NY, USA
Age:25 to 34
Gender:Female
Crayola Profile:Parent
Fun Factor: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My daughter loves this product. I made a mistake at first by not making sure the melting tray was on correct. But once you know what you are doing, it is an awesome product. Made rings and cars so far and my 3 year old loves them. Looking forward to buying more molds. Thanks Crayola for doing it again.
Yes, I recommend this product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>